Home
background-bourgogne

Visit Apothicairerie de Saint-Amour

Thematic Museum

Gratuit avec le The Burgundy-Franche-Comté Pass

From

15.00 €

10% in your kitty


The apothecary of Saint-Amour has an amazing décor and a treasure trove in a 17th century convent that became a hospital in the 19th century.

Established outside the city walls in 1620, the Capuchin convent housed the monks until 1792.
Between 1819 and 1824, a hospital was built in this former convent. The apothecary, the forerunner of our pharmacies, moved into the monks' refectory.

This hospital, a large-scale establishment at the time, welcomed patients for more than 100 years. Today, this building, well preserved and carefully restored, has become a health centre. You can still see the original sickrooms and the chapel.

The apothecary remains as it was in the 19th and early 20th centuries. It is certainly one of the largest apothecaries in the Jura and even in Franche-Comté.

It has a magnificent woodwork decoration made by a cabinetmaker from Saint-Amour, trompe l'oeil decorations, a medallion decorated with flowers and medicinal plants, and a floor made of Saint-Amour marble...

During a guided tour, discover this surprising place: its herbalist's furniture and its collection of more than 300 pots from different periods (16th, 17th and 19th century) including two mysterious pots from the 16th century.

Theriac jars, goatskin jars, pillboxes, cannon jars, glass jars, measuring instruments and instruments for preparing remedies... You will be able to observe a wide variety of containers and understand their uses.

The small room, where patients were received, contains furniture dating from the 17th and 18th centuries, including a remarkable herbalist's cabinet and an important collection of pewter tableware.

Immerse yourself in the history of the hospitals of Saint-Amour and the functioning of an apothecary.

Guided tours are offered throughout the year.
For groups, visits are possible on reservation.
Activities (readings, workshops, etc.) are organised.

New: passes to discover the royal prisons, the Caborde and the Chevreaux castle. Please contact the Tourist Office for more information.

Contact

https://tourisme-portedujura.fr

03 84 48 76 69


Apothicairerie de Saint-Amour

The apothecary at Saint-Amour has an astonishing décor in a 17th-century convent that became a hospital in the 19th century.

Established outside the town walls in 1620, the Capuchin convent housed the monks until 1792.
Between 1819 and 1824, a hospital was built in this former convent. The apothecary, the forerunner of today's pharmacies, moved into the monks' refectory.

This hospital, a major establishment at the time, welcomed patients for over 100 years. Today, this well-preserved and carefully restored building has become a health centre. The original wards and chapel can still be seen.

The apothecary remains as it was in the 19th and early 20th centuries. It is certainly one of the largest apothecaries in the Jura, and indeed in Franche-Comté.

It boasts magnificent wood panelling by a Saint-Amour cabinetmaker, trompe-l'œil decorations, a medallion decorated with flowers and medicinal plants, and a floor of Saint-Amour marble stone.

Take a guided tour of this surprising place, with its herbal furniture and its collection of over 300 pots from different periods (16th, 17th and 19th centuries), including two mysterious 16th-century pots.

You'll be able to see a wide variety of containers and understand how they were used, including theriac jars, goat's milk jars, pillboxes, cannon jars, glass jars, measuring instruments and instruments for preparing remedies.

The small room where patients were treated contains furniture dating from the 17th and 18th centuries, including a remarkable herbalist's cabinet and a large collection of pewter crockery.

Immerse yourself in the history and traditions of the Saint-Amour hospitals and the workings of an apothecary.

Guided tours are available throughout the year.
Group tours are available by prior arrangement.
School visits and workshops are available by prior arrangement.
Activities (readings, workshops, etc.) are also organised.

New: PASSes to discover the Royal Prisons and the Saint-Amour Apothecary's.

Guided tours in July and August 2024 :
Tuesday to Saturday afternoons :
2.30 pm The Royal Prisons / 4 pm the Apothecary's Shop
Except Thursday 29 August
Registration required - tickets available from the Tourist Office

Hours :


>> Guided tours during school holidays in July and August. >> From April to November, guided tours are organised from time to time: February, April (spring holidays zone A), May, June, September, October and December. For more information, contact the Tourist Office. Outside July and August, guided tours must be booked in advance. For groups of 10 or more, the Tourist Office offers guided tours by prior arrangement all year round. In June: Wednesdays at 4pm by prior arrangement