Visit to the Alsace-Moselle Memorial

Heritage tourism

Gratuit avec le Alsace Pass


20.00 €

10% in your kitty

The Alsatians and Moselle changed nationality four times between 1871 and 1945. Through an immersive and dynamic scenography, the Alsace Moselle Memorial reveals the particular history of these territories, from 1870 to the present day, particularly during the Second World War.

From 1940 to 1945, Alsace and Moselle were the only part of France to be annexed to the Third Reich and to experience the extreme violence of a totalitarian regime.

This situation cannot be understood without going back to the traces of a region that was disputed for a long time by France and Germany, and today is rich in the cultures inherited from this long struggle.

This place offers a history lesson of universal scope that teaches us the need to unite Europeans in their diversity and in respect for the dignity of each one to offer them peace and freedom. The final space is dedicated to the construction of Europe.


The Alsace-Moselle Memorial is OPEN every day from 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m., including public holidays (except: closed from 8 to 31 January 2024, 1 May 2024, 24, 25 and 31 December 2024 and 1 January 2025).



03 88 47 45 50

Alsace-Moselle Memorial

The building of an historical interpretation centre telling the story of the people of Alsace and Moselle was the resultat of an initiative of Jean Pierre Masseret, then Secretary of State of Former Soldiers and War Victims, and supported by regional elected officials such as Philippe Richert, Alain Ferry and Frederic Bierry. In 1999, Philippe Richert and Jean-Pierre Masseret decided the construction of the Memorial Alsace-Moselle and decided to build it in Schirmeck.

Located midway between Strasburg and St-Dié-des-Vosges, Schirmeck is at the crossroads of the Bas-Rhin, Haut-Rhin and Vosges French departments. Schirmeck was the site of an internment camp opened by the Nazis in August 1940. Moreover, the site of the Memorial faces Struthof, the former concentration camp, as well as the European Centre of the Deported Resistance Members, located on the other side of the valley. The proximity of these two sites, as well as their complementary tour visits, makes the memorial a must-see for anyone visiting Alsace.

On 18 June 2005, the Memorial opened its doors to the public. Jacques Chirac, President of the French Republic, inaugurated it on 3 November of the same year.