Visit of the Troglodyte Houses in Graufthal


Gratuit avec le Alsace Pass


20.00 €

10% in your kitty

Surrounded by dense forests and dominated by high cliffs, the hamlet of Graufthal has an original face, made even more unique by the presence of these three semi-troglodytic houses. Today, the houses of the Rochers have been restored and fitted out with period furniture in order to receive the public.
A visit to these picturesque dwellings, which are rare in Alsace, allows visitors to discover the daily life of the last families who lived there. The visitor can thus imagine the life of the occupants of these houses at the beginning of the 20th century. The houses of Les Rochers have been classified as historical monuments since 1988.


The Maisons des rochers are open to visitors every day from 20 March to 11 November, from 10am to 12pm and 2pm to 6pm, and on Sundays from 10am to 6.30pm (in July and August from 10am to 6pm). 



03 88 70 19 59

Troglodyte Houses

According to the archaeologist Robert Forrer and the painter and writer Charles Spindler, the houses in Les Rochers date back to the Middle Ages. At that time, the houses were used as granaries by the Benedictine abbey, which was established in the heart of the village.

Later, during the 17th century and after the departure of the nuns, when wars hit the region, the houses were transformed into makeshift dwellings by the inhabitants who sought protection. Then, during the 18th century, they became real dwellings. The site was inhabited until the middle of the 20th century by three families, the last inhabitant having lived there until her death in 1958.